El Mercado: Cuernavaca, Morelos

In Spring 2008 I took a three month trip to my parent’s hometown of Cuernavaca, Morelos. I spent the better part of my trip taking pictures and blogging about everyday life in what is known as the City of Eternal Spring. One of my blog highlights was the photo essay, El Mercado, that I shared on a now defunct blog (for copyright reasons). Having walked through this urban shopping jungle many times on my trip, I was sad to read the news that it burned down over the weekend. Authorities say the fire that started late on Saturday night and ended early Sunday morning was caused by a short circuit. It breaks my heart to imagine the hundreds of people who have lost their jobs and the merchandise to make a living. A living that for most Mexicans is considered barely getting by.

The forty-five year-old Mercado de Cuernavaca was the largest and one of the most important shopping centers in the state of Morelos; and as of this weekend is no more (video).

HERE IS MY PHOTO ESSAY:

El Mercado by Emmanuel Garcia

(Originally published on March 11, 2008)

Today we went to el Zocalo, but I didn’t start taking pictures until we walked into el mercadito. That place is crazy-busy with everyone trying to sell you something. My camera stood out despite the traffic of people walking up and down. Most people were a little uncomfortable with me shooting their merchandise, one older lady got very upset and asked me to pay her $30.00 pesos ($3.00) after she realized I had taken a picture of her. I laughed at the thought and asked her how much extra for her autograph as I walked away.

I tried not to be intrusive and began to politely ask people if I could shoot as they went about their work, but most said, “No, no se permite!” This is what I was able to capture.

There is a variety of everything from cheeses, meats, electronics, clothes, shoes, etc, etc, etc…
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Karari Kue says:

    That is so sad! I’m sorry to hear this place burned down. But México is built on the ruins of a previous empire. From the ashes, the people will return and I’m sure the Mercado will bloom once more.

    ya verás!

  2. Aurys says:

    K padre k tomaron esas fotos estan de poca los felizito ya tenia tiempo k no miraba los guamuchiles y todas esas fotos chidas. Thank you mi raza puro morelo.ajua si senor viva mexico .vesos ami cuemavaca bello te extrano pronto te verereeeeeereee.

Leave a Reply

