Jesus wept, because you’re a homophobic bigot

“Jesus Wept (John. 11:35).”

Growing up my parents enrolled me in a private Christian school. I was often asked to randomly recite a verse off the top of my head, so naturally I learned the short cuts.

“Jesus wept” is the shortest verse in the Bible and the easiest to remember if you want to prove to your teacher that you’re down with JC.

Today, I use it as a reply to the hate mongers like the protesters at the Westboro Baptist Church (WBC), Rick Santorum, Kirk Cameron and the like.

Whenever anyone uses the Bible or Jesus as the voice for their hate, I say, “Jesus wept, because you’re a homophobic bigot.”
I should put that on a t-shirt, right?

I was glad to see talk show host and out lesbian, Rosie O’Donnell use it against a group of protesters who greeted her with hate speech at the Super Bowl this year. She shared the uncomfortable experience on a Rosie Show Online video.

When asked by “Brother James” if she could quote one bible verse she replied, “Jesus Wept, at you, because you didn’t get the whole meaning of what it was about.” Go Rosie!

His reply?

“You’re an ungodly wicked woman on your way to hell, you need to get saved!”

“Go home and do the dishes, that is your job.”

“You’re a pig, lesbian pig.”


It angers me to see people be so disrespectful to someone in front of their children. I could feel the tears falling from heaven. My heart goes out to anyone who has experienced any type of bigotry (homophobia/xenophobia/misogyny/racism, etc), especially when the little ones are around. Unacceptable.

Leave a Reply

